

Children's Opportunity Alliance

Board of Directors Meeting
June 13, 2023, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Via Zoom

Meeting Minutes

The following Directors were present: Kevin Beverly (Chair), Amy Cropp, Chandra Curtis, William Hegwood (Treasurer), Tiffany Jones (Secretary), Deborah Lambert, Nora Morales, Myrna Peralta, BB Otero, Nichelle Owens, Sobia Qureshi, Theresa Ramsaroop, Pat Ruppert (Vice Chair), Wayne (Chris) Saxton, Dira Treadvance, Vivian Yao.

The following Directors were absent: Vernessa Broddie, Hannah Hahn, Taniesha Woods Myles, Sonia Pruneda-Hernandez.

Members of the public in attendance: Jennifer Arnaiz, Depart of Health and Human Services; Soumya Bhat, School Readiness Consulting; Leila Sammander, School Readiness Consulting.

COA Interim Staff in attendance: Laura Jahromi, Ralph Morales, Brittany Owens, Kimberly Rusnak, Anne Smith.

Board Chair Beverly called the meeting to order at 6:04pm. A quorum of the Directors was present.

Strategic Planning Board Listening Session

Soumya Bhat and Leila Sammander from School Readiness Consulting facilitated a conversation seeking initial feedback to help inform key aspects of strategic planning, such as key components of the early childhood system, the vision and value of COA, and the role of the Board.

Review and Vote of Meeting Minutes

The Board reviewed the Minutes from the May 17, 2023 meeting.

<u>Motion</u> to accept the May minutes as written: Dira Treadvance. Second: William Hegwood. No objections or abstentions.



Board Chair Update

- COA has begun negotiations with relevant representatives at DHHS to finalize our contract and funding from the County for FY24.
- One third of Board members have a term end date soon on June 30, 2023 and all have the option to renew or roll off.

Interim Executive Director Update

- In partnership with School Readiness Consulting, we will hold two public listening sessions to inform the strategic planning process at this stage.
- COA has issued a survey to past and current members of the Early Childhood
 Coordinating Council in order to inform a recommendation for the realignment of
 coordinating bodies in the early childhood space.
- Hiring is progressing. There are currently four open positions posted. The goal is to have at least some of the new staff begin in mid-July.

Fiscal Year 2024 Budget Update

The Board discussed the budget for fiscal year 2023-24, given that the appropriation from the County was finalized. The Board elevated the need to articulate how the various income streams are aligned to the deliverables that COA will produce.

Closed Session

Statement of the time, place, and purpose of the closed session:

Time: 7:25pm to 8:00pm, June 13, 2023

Location: Zoom

Purpose of the closed session: Grantmaking Conversation and Personnel Search Updates

Record of the vote of to close the session:

<u>Motion:</u> At 7:25pm a motion was made to move to closed session by Sobia Qureshi. Second: Nichelle Owens. Motion passed unanimously.

Pursuant to the statutory authority of the Maryland Annotated Code, General Provisions Article, § 3-305(b), the Board of Directors met in a Closed Session for the following two purpose: To discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of appointees, employees, or officials over whom this public body has jurisdiction; any other personnel matter that affects one or more specific individuals; and to consider the investment of public funds.

Topic description: Grant Conversation



Persons Present for Discussion: Kevin Beverly (Chair), Amy Cropp, Chandra Curtis, William Hegwood (Treasurer), Tiffany Jones (Secretary), Deborah Lambert, Nora Morales, Myrna Peralta, BB Otero, Nichelle Owens, Sobia Qureshi, Theresa Ramsaroop, Pat Ruppert (Vice Chair), Wayne (Chris) Saxton, Dira Treadvance, Vivian Yao, Brittany Owens, Kimberly Rusnak, Laura Jahromi.

<u>Motion:</u> Pat Ruppert made a motion to approve the slate of grants pending feedback by Jennifer Arnaiz to ensure no duplication or unallowable activities. The motion was seconded by Chandra Curtis.

The following Directors abstained: William Hegwood, Tiffany Jones, Nora Morales, Myrna Peralta, BB Otero, Sobia Qureshi.

All others present were in favor.

Topic description: Personnel Search Update

Persons Present for Discussion: Kevin Beverly (Chair), Amy Cropp, Chandra Curtis, William Hegwood (Treasurer), Tiffany Jones (Secretary), Deborah Lambert, Nora Morales, Myrna Peralta, BB Otero, Nichelle Owens, Sobia Qureshi, Theresa Ramsaroop Pat Ruppert (Vice Chair), Wayne (Chris) Saxton, Dira Treadvance, Vivian Yao, Brittany Owens.

Motion:

The Chair adjourned the meeting from closed session at 8:00pm.